Fost-Plus | BeCommerce

6. Fost Plus


Fost Plus is the engine of the circular economy for household packaging in Belgium. The organisation organises and finances the recycling chain for household packaging waste. By working together with stakeholders within an ecosystem, we set up efficient and effective processes for the selective collection, sorting and recycling of PMD, glass and paper/cardboard. In this way, we are realising our mission: to offer a recycling solution for every packaging item that comes onto the Belgian market.

Companies that market packaged products are responsible for the waste phase and recycling of that packaging. They can fulfil their Extended Producer Responsibility by joining the collective system of Fost Plus. Via the Green Point, they then pay the real costs linked to the selective collection, sorting and recycling of the packaging that they bring onto the market.

As an interest group for digital commerce, BeCommerce attaches great importance to sustainability. The legal obligations in the context of packaging were therefore included in our checklist which functions as a testing framework to obtain the BeCommerce trustmark. This means concretely that BeCommerce members can only obtain or keep the trustmark if they meet the legal obligations and fulfil their (financial) responsibility with regard to the recycling of their packaging.

Fost-Plus | BeCommerce

6. Fost Plus


Fost Plus est le moteur de l'économie circulaire pour les emballages ménagers en Belgique. L'organisation organise et finance la chaîne de recyclage des déchets d'emballages ménagers. En collaborant avec les parties prenantes d'un écosystème, nous mettons en place des processus efficaces et efficients pour la collecte sélective, le tri et le recyclage des PMD, du verre et du papier/carton. De cette manière, nous réalisons notre mission : offrir une solution de recyclage pour chaque article d'emballage qui arrive sur le marché belge.

Les entreprises qui commercialisent des produits emballés sont responsables de la phase de déchets et du recyclage de ces emballages. Ils peuvent assumer leur responsabilité élargie de producteur en adhérant au système collectif de Fost Plus. Via le Point Vert, ils paient ensuite les coûts réels liés à la collecte sélective, au tri et au recyclage des emballages qu'ils mettent sur le marché.

En tant que groupe d'intérêt pour le commerce numérique, BeCommerce attache une grande importance à la durabilité. Les obligations légales dans le contexte des emballages ont donc été incluses dans notre liste de contrôle qui fonctionne comme un cadre de test pour obtenir le label de confiance BeCommerce. Concrètement, cela signifie que les membres de BeCommerce ne peuvent obtenir ou conserver le label de confiance que s'ils respectent les obligations légales et assument leur responsabilité (financière) en matière de recyclage de leurs emballages.